Counter thoughts: Take it slow☕️

Last week as I was walking to get some groceries, I was on the phone with a friend.

Strolling the streets of my neighborhood, with the grocery store as my destination.

Little did I know my route would change because of a smile: as I was about to cross the street, an elderly woman gave me the biggest smile .

She was resting one hand on the wall and the other holding her cane and little bag.

I couldn’t just walk by so I stopped asked if she needed help to go somewhere, she smiled and looked at me saying “ you sure you got time?”.

We walked for a good 30 minutes, spoke in a mix of Spanish/English- I soon learned she had been a 42 years old resident of the East village, she grew up in Wahaca, Mexico and when we met she was walking back from her dialysis that she does three days a week for 5 hours.

I left her at the corner of her street, she had the biggest smile. Little did she know, I was the one grateful for the life lesson she reminded me of “things go fast but sometimes you gotta take it slow: open your eyes to the world around you and take the time to be present.”

By A.C

Stillness, Paris February 2019, by A.C

Laisser un commentaire